Materialists care about the opinion of others more than they do their own, which can be a difficult thing to deal with for those who dont share materialistic tendencies or values. SHE NEVER GIVES. 3. Have any thoughts to share? This way of thinking often leads to neglecting social and environmental issues. My name is Michelle Devani, and I've been helping people with their relationships since 2003. Materialism often starts out small and leads to bigger purchases, eventually turning into a never-ending cycle where materialists are always looking for more. Here, we debunk the different traits of a materialistic woman. III) 3) Shopping is as essential as oxygen to her. These are some of the common signs of a materialistic person. Shopping. While not all materialists are bad people, they can be quite difficult to deal with if youre more concerned with the spiritual aspects of life than their possessions. Krauss explained onPsychology Todaythat, Egocentrism can cause usto make incorrect assumptions about what other people are thinking or feeling and annoyed or even enraged when others fail to see things their way. They often have materialistic tendencies from a young age. Materialistic Quotes. Score: 4.9/5 (20 votes) . They may use people to get ahead in life. Are you a spiritual traveler? 10 Simple Minimalist Budget Tips That ACTUALLY Work! Her ego will increase if someone seems impressed by that. Love Tips. According to Tim Kasser, Ph.D., and professor of psychology, being materialistic is seen as a negative trait because its often associated with competitiveness, being manipulative, a lack of empathy, or other selfish behaviors that most of us tend to avoid. They need to have the latest designer clothes, shoes and handbags. Materialists often brag about what they have through materialistic means, such as posting pictures of their latest purchase or status symbol on social media and talking about it all the time. The whole world has to know. My Girlfriend Wants To Lose